DAZ76

October 14, 2008

Totally sick of grumpy people

You know the type, always complaining, can’t act pleasant to save their life, bummer face, and downer vibes. I’m sick of it. I can sort of relate because I think at times I have been pretty negative and kind of a curmudgeon, but I got over myself and realized that I was just being annoying and stupid. I’m not saying that people shouldn’t be allowed to get down in the dumps, it happens, right? Teams lose, people die, break ups are hard etc. but when the bitchiness and acting all pathetic becomes chronic and on going it’s probably time to go visit the Chinese herbalist, see the MD with the psychotropics, or maybe it’s just a matter of stopping to smell the roses for a minute.

On the other hand, maybe it’s intentional behavior. Unconscious maybe, but possibly ever so slightly designed to draw attention and sympathy from a relatively apathetic world? Kind of a, “Poor me I need love and validation so I’m going to act like a total dick to get noticed” type of thing. That makes sense, but I’m here to tell you that nobody likes a sickly grump except maybe other sickly grumps, and they don’t so much like each other, more like nobody else will put up with the annoying and gothed out bullshit vibes. Birds of a feather, etc.

I’m not nearly suggesting that people need to walk around with fake smiles and whatnot (that’s equably annoying and disingenuous) I’m just saying, don’t get so comfortable with the fact that being a drag has become one of your most prominent characteristics. It comes off like some kind of low level mental illness or something. Not everybody has to feel giddy and goofy and fun all the time, but it’s just poor social skills to display so prominently a black mood. Unless of course you are a very funny depressed person (which you’re probably not) or you really dress the part and have the record collection to back it up (I’m talking you wear a hooded cape and own Joy Division singles autographed by Ian Curtis) your bad attitude and funk are just really boring and uninteresting to the rest of the world. Common, trite, and at this phase of the game a bit immature, really. That is unless you really are sick and like I said up front, there are people to talk to and solutions to be found. Personally I have been listening to the Natty Dread record from Bob Marley and the Wailers almost on repeat, and despite having such sad and ponderous themes of oppression and hunger, the beauty I find in there gives me energy and I get on with making ridiculous phone conversations with friends and fucking around on my blog.

Sorry to use such strong words in regards to a highly sensitive subject, but somebody has to do it, right? I’m trying to be helpful and encouraging here, believe me. Making the world a better place. Civility and politeness don’t need to be affected by sadness. I mean look at blues music, i’ts down right charming! By the way I don’t necesarily endorse Bob Marley’s politics or religious views. I do however endorse his hairstyle.

3 Comments »

  1. you’ve got me punched right in the middle of my stupid head, bro/sis.
    my friends already get bored with me, and i still don’t move to get a proper help/consultation with a mental professional. i want to be like everybody else who can be happy, enjoying their lives despite their problems, everybody have their own crucifixion, right? but, i keep on and hang on my ‘depressed’ symptoms all the time.
    and then, what about my real actual problemssss…?

    Comment by mei — October 15, 2008 @ 6:33 am | Reply

  2. Mei,

    Your name is Mei, and that is such a cool name. I don’t believe you, I think you are secretly thrilled to be you. Do you know how many people wish their name was Mei? I’m no doctor, but I would write you a prescrition to the Ramones. Stay cool Mei!!

    daz76

    Comment by daz76 — October 22, 2008 @ 9:21 am | Reply

  3. How are you?, Do something for help those hungry people in Africa and India,
    I made this blog about that subject:
    at http://tinyurl.com/5t2jg6

    Comment by cheritycall — October 28, 2008 @ 5:17 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

